Tags

, , , , , , ,

I have previously heard a lot about this French brand and so when I received an invitation to join their private sale, I decided to do a research on its popular products as I wanted to try some new products.

Experience at the sale event:

The private sale was held  between 1st and 2nd November 2013 at the JW Mariott Hotel, Business Bay. Everything was 50% off and some items had a buy 1, get 1 free offer in addition to the discount. They offered free skin consultation at the event to help you determine which products were suitable for your skin type. After that, my skin consultant, who seemed like a very young lady, handed me about 10 different products. I hate pushy sale assistants. I would prefer it if they tell me the type of products I should use and explain me the science behind the ingredients rather than handing me zillions of products to buy. No way in hell am I buying that much stuff! Beauty related products are one of the few things that I research on before buying. I read loads of reviews, find out the ingredients in them and then make a purchasing decision. I rarely make impulse beauty purchase, as my skin is super sensitive. I specifically went there for the Bioderma Sensibio H20 solution after reading rave reviews about the product and am so glad I bought the biggest bottle that was available at the event. Initially, I was planning to buy the 100 ml one to test it out. However, I ended up buying the biggest bottle that was there. That’s what I do…spend, spend and spend more 😛 The 500 ml one was reduced to AED 45 from AED 89! Oh, unlike some sales, the items were not close to expiration date. After inspection, I found that they were freshly manufactured so deal! In addition, I also bought two tubes of Photoderm Max Stick SPF 50+ (review to follow soon). The lip balms were an impulse purchase since I was in need of one with SPF. At the counter, they added plenty of Sebium purifying foaming gel samples in my bag. Before leaving, the ladies at the registration desk asked me to choose an item among a 30 ml Bioderma Sensibio Micellar solution, 50 ml AutoDerm cream and a full size AutoDerm soap as a gift. Since I already bought the solution, I went for the AutoDerm soap and my sister went for the AutoDerm cream. So I got to try out more stuff without spending anything. Since it was a long time ago and I was in a bit of hurry, I didn’t get to take pictures of the event. However, here is the pricing list in case you are interested (click on it to enlarge):

DSC00694 DSC00695 DSC00697 DSC00698 DSC00699 DSC00700 DSC00701 DSC00702

Bioderma Sensibio H20  Review

 Before we start, here is a brief description of micellar solution by Dreaming In Blush:

“A micelle is a tiny oil molecule that is suspended in soft water. Instead of smearing your makeup around your face like water would, these little molecules basically eat up and absorb dirt and makeup like little pac-man”

I wasn’t expecting much of it other than removing all my make-up and daily sunscreen. I don’t wear make-up daily unless I look like crap that day and when I do, it’s usually eyeliner and lipstick. However, special occasions like weddings are a whole new case. That’s when the 1 kg make up face comes out. 😛 Thus, I never really felt the need to buy a separate make-up remover. However, I bought this because I just wanted to see how effective make-up removers were as this is considered to be one of the best that is available in the market. Plus, it also gives me the flexibility to remove make-up in bed.

From the bottle:

Sensibio H2O gently cleanses and removes make-up from face and eyes. The micelles contained in its formula effectively micro-emulsify impurities while maintaining the cutaneous balance. Soothing active ingredients prevent the skin feeling irritated. Excellent cutaneous and ocular tolerance”

Directions for use: Holding the bottle upright, just press on the pump with a cotton ad and it will soak up the lotion! Cleanse/remove make-up from face and eyes and dry gently.

Ingredients: WATER (AQUA), PEG-6 CAPRYLIC/CAPRIC GLYCERIDES, PROPYLENE GLYCOL, CUCUMIS SATIVUS (CUCUMBER) FRUIT EXTRACT, MANNITOL, XYLITOL, RHAMNOSE, FRUCTOOLIGOSACCHARIDES, DISODIUM EDTA, CETRIMONIUM BROMIDE.

Properties: Fragrance-free formula. Alcohol-free. No phenoxyethanol. 500 ml bottle. Made in France

Packaging:

The packaging of the item is quite simple yet effective. It comes in a clear plastic bottle and a pink flip cap, opening which exposes a pump. The product is literally like water in consistency and appearance.

DSC00690DSC00691 DSC00692 DSC00693

To use it, I fold my round cotton pad twice and pump it two to three times to soak the entire cotton pad.

DSC00536 DSC00534 DSC00535

I use one cotton pad to remove face and neck product and another one to remove products from the eyes and eyebrows. Usually, one cotton pad is enough for the entire face to remove sunscreen and eyeliner if I use any.(Yes, I like to use it even when I only have a sunscreen on my face as it makes me feel that my face is extra-clean :P) On days when I wear full-face make-up, I use two to three cotton pads for the entire face. It works effectively on me, as there is usually no residue left on my skin nor does it leave my skin dry. I then proceed to remove it with my cleanser of choice that day (which is usually Johnson’s baby soap or something from my mum’s collection)

Here is a before and after shot of using Bioderma Sensibio H2O on eye-make up.

Eye makeup - Before

Eye makeup – Before (Maybelline Gel Eyeliner and Coastal Scents Ultra Shimmer 88 eyeshadow palette)

Eye makeup – After

And here is the cotton pad after:

Removing BB cream and lip tint

Removing BB cream and lip tint

After removing eyeliner

After removing eye make-up

Fragrance:

In spite of claiming that its fragrance-free, I can definitely feel a mild and pleasant scent. Even though I am extremely sensitive to scent, this product didn’t irritate me so I guess most people should be fine with it.

Verdict:

So result wise, I am extremely happy with this product. I didn’t expect any skin care benefits from it; I only expected it to remove my make-up effectively, which it does without irritating or drying out my skin. I can’t compare it to the other micellar solutions out there as this is the only one that I have ever used.

Will I ever repurchase?

Maybe!  I really want to try the one from thisworks as I heard that in addition to removing dirt from face, it also brightens your face. So until I find it or find something better, I will definitely invest in this product from Bioderma. It’s totally worth the money.

Rating: 10/10

Availability in UAE:

Available at most pharmacies and hypermarkets such as Carrefour or online here.

Price:

500 ml – AED 89 , 250 ml – AED 68, 100 ml – 33

Recommendation: Although I have heard that people leave this on, I would highly recommend removing the product with a cleanser as the oil particles can break you out.

 

DISCLAIMER: This is not a sponsored review. I purchase the mentioned product/s with my own money and the opinion stated here are that of my own.

